[MoMath] 2017 August-September Upcoming Events

07/31/2017 2:22 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Dear MoMath friends,


It's an action-packed August at MoMath: education, art, magic, and even chocolate are featured during this month of exciting events, including the return of MoMath favorite Art Benjamin, a brand new hackathon, and the exciting biennial MOVES conference, with magical math for everyone!


MoMath at a Glance  
Now Open! MoMath's newest exhibit, Hoop Curves
Mon, July 31 through
Fri, August 4
Roundtable: the MoMath Math Teachers' Circle - Five days of engaging math evenings for K-6 educators
Wed, August 2 Platonic Solids: Tiffany lamps, art objects, and stepping-stones to higher dimensions
Wed, August 2 Math Encounters: "Deep Math: Between Combinatorics and Chocolate" with Persi Diaconis
Fri, August 4 Family Fridays at MoMath presented by Two Sigma: "Magic Squares and Magical Squaring" with Art Benjamin
Sat, August 5through
Sun, August 6
Expressions: the MoMath hackathon, sponsored by Two Sigma
Sun, August 6 through
Tues, August 8
MOVES 2017The Magic of Math, sponsored by Two Sigma — Join MoMath for its biennial research conference on recreational mathematics.  Mathematicians, math educators, and families: all are welcome!
Fri, August 11 through
Tues, August 15
Pythagorize Seattlemulti-day, city-wide puzzle hunt followed by special celebratory event on 8-15-17, sponsored by the Bezos Family Foundation, OppenheimerFunds, and Weyerhaeuser with the support of MOHAI, the Pacific Science Center, and Math 4 Love. 
Thurs, August 24 Tween Primes, the MoMath book club for tweens and teens: Numbed! by David Lubar
Thurs, August 24 Volumes, the MoMath book club: Math on Trial: How Numbers Get Used and Abused in the Courtroom by Leila Schneps and Coralie Colmez; don't miss your chance to meet the author!
Wed, September 6 Math Encounters: "The Mathematics of Doodling" with Ravi Vakil
Fri, September 8 Family Fridays at MoMath presented by Two Sigma: "Picking Points A-Plenty" with Nat Stahl
Sat, September 9 Equilibrium, an adult evening of mathematical games
Sun, September 10 Unlimited, MoMath’s mix-n-mingle program for 6th through 9th graders
Sat & Sun, September 9 & 10 Grandparents' Weekend: Free admission for grandparents and up to two grandchildren!
Thurs, September 14 Volumes, the MoMath book club: The Wild Numbers by Philibert Schogt
Beginning Sat, September 16 Adventures in Algorithms: experimental computational Mathematica
Wed, September 20 Tween Primes, the MoMath book club for tweens and teens: Do the Math: Secrets, Lies, and Algebra by Wendy Lichtman
Weekends MoMath's Derivatives tour program and Explorations sessions, available upon request


Follow MoMath on Social Media

Instagram Twitter Facebook YouTube

                       

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software