Robert A. Rosenbaum Award

The Robert A. Rosenbaum Award is presented at the ATOMIC Business Meeting held during the annual conference.  The recipient must reflect the essence of Robert A. Rosenbaum, exhibiting outstanding commitment and successful service to the entire mathematics community in Connecticut.  While it is impossible to capture the spirit of Dr. Rosenbaum in print, the following text serves to demonstrate examples of Bob’s energy, professionalism and dedication to the mathematics community.
  • Mathematics Professor since 1939
  • Wesleyan University Dean, Provost, Academic Vice President, President, Chancellor
  • Service to no less than 18 scientific and professional societies in the form of President, Treasurer, Editor, Board Member, Committee Leader, Committee member
  • Director of PIMMS at its inception in 1979, then Chairman of PIMMS (all work at PIMMS, over 40,000 hours, have been volunteer hours!)
  • Countless presentations at state and national conferences
  • Publications in no less than 12 journals
  • Author of three college textbooks
  • Membership on corporate and service organization advisory boards
  • Countless awards and honorary degrees from universities and professional societies


(Nominations by ATOMIC Members only)

 Year  Recipient
2023 Jeffrey Corbishley
2019 John Keogh
2017 Robin Moore
2016 Megan Staples 
2015 Kathy Gavin 
2014 Ann Marie Spinelli 
2013  Albina Cannavaciolo
2011 Tim Craine 
2010 Maria Diamantis 
2009  Steve Lecky
2008  Patti Hahn
2007  Ray McGivney
2006  Heather Giancola
2005  Louise Herot
2004 Kathy Bavelas 
2003  Dan Dolan
2002  Frank Corbo
2001  Judy Dailey
2000  Betsy Carter
1999  Ken Sherrick
1998  Steve Leinwand     
1997 Mari Muri 
1996 Don Hastings 
1995 Robert Rosenbaum 

If you are an ATOMIC Member, you may NOMINATE a colleague.

This award will be presented at the
next ATOMIC Conference.


The ATOMIC Mission is to ensure that every Connecticut student receives world-class education in mathematics by providing vision, leadership and support to the K-16 mathematics community and by providing every teacher of mathematics the opportunity to grow professionally.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software